Philosophy Purity Made Simple Cleansers

Bonjour bonjour! Sorry we missed our post last Sunday but we hope you enjoyed spending quality time with your dad on Father’s Day! 🙂 Katelyn posted a wishlist on Thursday though so if you haven’t seen it yet, check it out and see what she’s had an eye on lately! This week, Katelyn will also be taking the reigns and talking about cleansers she’s tried out – in fact, she’ll be going over a cleanser SHOWDOWN!;) Get ready in 3, 2, 1!

Description

As you may have already seen from the blog title, we’re talking about Philosophy cleansers this week! Specifically, we’re talking about the Purity Made Simple line, the one that everyone and their grandma knows about 😉 Philosophy’s original and most popular cleanser, Purity Made Simple Cleanser, is a one step cleanser that helps to cleanse and hydrate your skin, good for all skin types (dry, oily, combo, normal, sensitive). It gently cleanses your skin from dirt, oil and makeup, all while conditioning the skin with natural oil extracts. This creamy cleanser comes in several sizes and retails for $32 CAD for 240mL/8 oz which can be found at Sephora.

Original cleanser.png

Philosophy also carries a Purity Made Simple High Foaming Daily Cleanser. This cleanser is very similar, although it is a liquid-to-foam version of Purity. It’s meant for those who like the Purity cleanser but prefer the feeling of a foam cleanser. I bought it at Winners for $16.99 CAD for 177.4mL/6 oz, but it’s a pretty hard to find cleanser outside of randomly finding it at Winners. Amazon does seem to offer it but for $50 for a 16 oz bottle… worth it? Keep reading!

Foam Cleanser

Review

Before purchasing these two cleansers I read amazing reviews on many products from Philosophy. Some of my favourite beauty gurus swore by their cleansers, so it seemed like a high end brand that actually worked for many people, especially for those with sensitive skin. The first product I tried from this line was the Purity cleanser and I’ve repurchased it at Sephora several times over the years, however I’ve always managed to grab it on a seasonal sale (as a seasoned bargainer would naturally do 😉 ). I had high hopes for this product, and it definitely did not disappoint me. I would say there isn’t anything particularly distinctive about it but it just gets the job done! It gets rid of all of my makeup, but it doesn’t strip my face or leave it feeling dry. I can always rely on it, so it has become a staple product in my skincare routine.

On a trip to Winners I recently discovered that the Philosophy cleanser I loved so much came in a liquid to foam form as well. Of course I had to try it out to see how it stacked up against the original cleanser. Would there be a difference? Would I like the foam version better?! These were the thoughts going through my mind which I thought justified this purchase even though I just bought two other cleansers to try… (I might have a problem…). Long story short I tested it out and I loved it… it did a comparable job at cleansing my face and it also didn’t cause any irritation or dryness.

I like these too very similar cleansers and if we compare cleansing ability they both are evenly matched. However, if I had to repurchase one over the other I would buy the creamy cleanser (even if they foam version could be easily bought). I enjoy how easy I can distribute the foam on my face and it lathers super easily. On the other hand, I feel like I use more of the product in comparison to the original cleanser. I feel like I’m choosing between two of my children. Both are very great cleansers so I don’t think there is a right or wrong choice. This is just my personal opinion 🙂

Purity Made Simple – OG Purity Made Simple High Foaming
  • Gentle/safe for sensitive skin
  • Not-scented
  • Non stripping
  • Gets rid of makeup
  • Improves skin texture
  • Small amount needed only

 

  • Gentle/safe for sensitive skin
  • Not-scented
  • Non stripping
  • Gets rid of makeup
  • Improves skin texture
  • Have to use more product

Have you tried either one of these cleansers? Which would you purchase? Comment below and let us know! Don’t forget to come back Thursday to check out Helen’s Weekly Wishlist 🙂 Wishing you all a beautiful sunny week ahead!

Leave a Reply

